This is the "ASSIGNMENT" page of the "Stock market assignment" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Stock market assignment  

Last Updated: Apr 6, 2017 URL: http://pccc.libguides.com/stock Print Guide RSS Updates
ASSIGNMENT Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment: Track a stock

Track a stock throughout the semester,
--Trace a brief history of the company
--Its' price related to the US economy, the global economy, interest rates, company sales and profits, political environment, and market fluctuations.
-Compare the stock to
   --its competition,
   --the stock indexes,
   -- DJIA,
   -- NASDAQ, and the
 

Web sites


Start here:
Yahoo! Finance  Enter a ticker number to obtain stock prices, historical prices, summary, headlines, press releases, company events, Income statement, SEC filing and more. Tracks stocks. Also a good place to select a stock , on the “Stock to watch” link
Selecting a stock:
The Motley Fool - Good source to help you select and track a stock - Stock market investing advice, research, stock picks, news, guides
Tracking stocks (besides Yahoo!Finance) :
Daily Finance -  from AOL: Stock quotes, charts, profiles, financial filings, competitor comparisons, news.
Google Finance - Stock market quotes, compares to domestic trends, competitors and major indices
Understanding stocks:
Investopedia - Dictionary of investment terms, Stock analysis. Articles including Stock Basics Tutorial
Investor's Business Daily - How to invest (How to read stock charts), market trends, (the big picture), stock lists (stocks on the move)
Glossary of terms from investor.gov
Understanding the economic environment and markets
Bloomberg Business - News, markets, insights
Best of the Web - Business - Links to Business columns on news web sites (Forbes, Wall Street Journal, Bloomberg Business Week..)
MarketWatch - Stock market quotes, business news, financial news. Separate links for the Economy and Markets
Wall Street Journal - Business, Financial and Economic News, World News. Limited free content.
Government Sites
EDGAR - Public Company Filings with the Security and Exchange Commission (SEC) for company sales and profits.
Investor.gov - SEC site on investor relations. Includes a glossary, Introduction to the markets, how the markets work
Company Information
Annual reports.com  -Company annual reports for background information on the company
 

Wall Street Journal ** ABI Inform Library database

ABI/INFORM Global Library database, collection of Business and Finance journals including the Wall Street Journal.
Off campus, log into Blackboard, click on Library tab at top of page to find user name and password.
 

More Library databases

See the complete
Use Business databases for
Economic, political and company news:
Business Source Elite
Hint: Search by the company name, combine with key terms, limit by date
Sample search:
   "General Electric" and stock
Includes these magazines:
Business Week
Money - Personal finance magazine
Forbes- Busienss and management insight into large corproations
Fortune -Business trends for top busienss executives
Investor's Business Daily -Daily stock market, business news and analysis
--NYTimes.com Academic - Register using your pccc email for full access. See their Business page for Economic news.
 

 

Off-Campus Access

NOTE: Off-campus,  use My PCCC Account , log into Blackboard and look for the  Library link for passwords and access information.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip