This is the "Social Justice" page of the "Topic: Social Justice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Topic: Social Justice  

Last Updated: Mar 30, 2016 URL: http://pccc.libguides.com/socialjustice Print Guide RSS Updates

Social Justice Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

eBooks

Cover Art
Global Issues: Human rights [electronic resource] - Faith Merino
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781438136134
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Summary: "Human Rights enables readers to understand international standards for human rights, human rights abuses around the world, and the social, economic, and natural causes and effects of such abuses. The history of human rights concepts and declarations of human rights are examined, including the distinction that many historical theories and movements in human rights have made between social groups, namely free men versus women, children, slaves, and immigrants."

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American social movements - Ness, Immanuel,
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: [2013]
Summary: "From abolitionism and woman suffrage to organized labor, civil rights, and the environment, this major reference examines every significant social movement in American history through the early twenty-first century."

Social justice - Merino, Noel,
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2014.
Contents: chapter 1. Social justice and economic inequality -- chapter 2. Social justice and minorities -- chapter 3. Social justice and gender -- chapter 4. Global social justice.
Series Statement: (Global viewpoints)

Social issues in America : an encyclopedia [electronic resource] - Ciment, James,
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780765682543
Publication Date: [2013]
"...historical and contemporary aspects of more than 170 hotly contested issues confronting American society"

 

Highlighted Resources - Overviews

1. These databases have good overviews of related concepts.

  • GALE Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Topics:  Social Justice, Activism, Welfare Reform, Minimum Wage, Child Welfare )
  • GALE Virtual Reference Library
  • CQ Researcher
    • Browse by topic : Law and Justice, Social movements
2. For a complete list of Library databases (books and articles online) see  List of all PCCC Online Resources 
  • For a complete list of books, search the online catalog.
  • Remember to limit to PCCC Library
  • Subject headings: Social Justice, Human Rights, Civil Rights, Social Conditions, Social Policy
 

Highlighted Resources - In Depth Searches

1.  For a complete list of Library databases (books and articles online) see  List of all PCCC Online Resources 

2.   Start with, Academic Search Complete, a comprehensive database from EBSCO.

  •  Search tips:
  • Remember to click on the "Full Text" box
    • Other ways to limit:, using the navigation pane on the left side of the search screen:
      •  By date
      • By type of source: magazine, scholarly articles
    • Finding too much? Try a more specific search term.... 
      •    such as "Minimum wage" or "Corporate social responsibility"
    •    or combine terms
    • Finding too little? Broaden your search.
    • Related subjects: Human rights, equality, social responsibility, social injustice

2. For a complete list of books, search the online catalog.

  • Remember to limit to PCCC Library
3.  For a more in depth search try
  • Nytimes.com - register using pccc email to have access to the archives and multimedia,
 

Reference

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues - Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: REF HN 59.2 .E343 2011
ISBN: 9780313392047
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Vol. 1: Business and economy -- Vol. 2: Criminal justice -- Vol. 3: Family and society -- Vol. 4: Environment, science, and technology. United States--Social conditions--Encyclopedias.

Cover Art
Social Issues in America - James Ciment
Call Number: REF. HN57 .S624 2006 V.1-8
ISBN: 0765680610
Publication Date: 2006-03-15
Social problems--Encyclopedias.
Social movements--Encyclopedias.

 

Books

Browse the shelves near these books to find similar books on your topic.
Subject areas
   B  - Philosophy  
   HC - Economic conditions
   HM - Sociology
   HN - Social history/  problems
   HQ The family
   HT - Community
            Classes/Races
   HV - Social pathology / welfare
   JC - Political Theory
   KF - U.S. Law
Cover Art
A Brief History of Justice - David Johnston
Call Number: B105 .J87 J65 2011
ISBN: 9781405155762
Publication Date: 2011-07-18
Summary: "...traces the development of the idea of justice from the ancient world until the present day, with special attention to the emergence of the modern idea of social justice."

Cover Art
Poverty, Ethics and Justice - H. P. P. Lötter
Call Number: HC79 .P6 L68 2011
ISBN: 9780708324004
Publication Date: 2011-08-30
Summary: "Poverty violates fundamental human values through its impact on individuals and on human environments, and it goes against the core values of democratic societies. Drawing on numerous scientific studies as well as his own experience witnessing the systematic poverty in his home country of South Africa..."

Cover Art
Inclusive Equality - Sally Witcher
Call Number: HM671 .W58 2013
ISBN: 9781447300038
Publication Date: 2013-10-15
Contents: Reviewing and rethinking theories about disadvantage -- Social justice -- Poverty, discrimination -- Social exclusion -- Developing and applying a new framework for inclusion : social structures and operations -- Institutional processes and relationships -- Personal identity and interaction -- Inclusive social policy.

Cover Art
A Force More Powerful - Jack Duvall; Peter Ackerman; Duvall Jack
Call Number: HM1281 .A25 2000
ISBN: 0312228643
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
Summary: "...show[s] how popular movements used non-violent action to overthrow dictators, obstruct military invaders and secure human rights ..."

Cover Art
Class Race Gender and Crime - Gregg Barak; Paul Leighton; Allison Cotton
Call Number: HV9950 .B34 2015
ISBN: 9781442220720
Publication Date: 2014-07-24

Cover Art
Violence All Around - John Sifton
Call Number: JC571 .S5327 2015
ISBN: 9780674057692
Publication Date: 2015-05-11
Summary: "A human rights lawyer travels to hot zones around the globe, before and after the September 11 attacks, to document abuses committed by warlords, terrorist groups, and government counterterrorism forces."

Cover Art
Scottsboro and Its Legacy : : the cases that challenged American legal and social justice - James R. Acker
Call Number: KF224.S34 A25 2008
ISBN: 9780275990831
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Summary: "The Scottsboro Boys case ... became a lightning rod for fundamental issues of social justice including racial discrimination, class oppression, and legal fairness. Involving years of appeals, the Scottsboro trials resulted in two landmark U.S. Supreme Court rulings .."

Cover Art
Standing up for Something Every Day - Beatrice S. Fennimore; Celia Genishi (Foreword by)
Call Number: LB1139.23 .F46 2014
ISBN: 9780807755600
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Summary: "Standing Up for Something Every Day is written for present and future teachers in the early childhood classroom who truly want to make a difference in the lives of children. Exploring some of the most complex and pressing social and ethical dilemmas..."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip