This is the "Library Resources on Sign Language" page of the "Sign Language Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sign Language Resources  

Last Updated: Jan 20, 2017 URL: http://pccc.libguides.com/signlanguage Print Guide RSS Updates
Library Resources on Sign Language Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Articles for ASL

Articles can be found in our Library databases, available from the PCCC Library home page, Online Resources box
→Click on EBSCO (all),
→Select all databases
→Enter your search terms.
Search suggestions will appear as you type your search terms. Examples:
-Deaf culture
-Sign language history
Note the "Refine Results" box on the left of the search results screen for further ways to narrow your search.
→For Literary analysis,  select the subject area (↓down arrow to Literature). Start with Bloom's Literary Reference.

 

Dictionaries for ASL

Cover Art
The Joy of Signing - Lottie L. Riekehof
Call Number: HV2474 .R53 1987
ISBN: 0882435205
Publication Date: 1987-01-01
Dictionary with ASL features

Cover Art
The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language - Peggy Swartzel Lott (Illustrator); Daniel Renner (Illustrator); Rob Hills (Illustrator); Clayton Valli (Editor)
Call Number: REF. HV2475 .G35 2005 with DVD
ISBN: 1563682826
Publication Date: 2006-04-17

Cover Art
Random House Webster's American Sign Language Dictionary - Elaine Costello
Call Number: REF HV2475 .C66 2008
ISBN: 9780375426162
Publication Date: 2008-06-10

Historical ebooks available online

 

American Sign Language Resources

→Browse the Library shelves for books on sign language, with the call number range:HV 2470-HV 2883
→Search the catalog for the words:
"Sign language"
ASL
"Deaf" as a subject term
→Notations to the books listed below are taken from Books for Learning Sign Language, Gallaudet University,    
indicating American Sign Language books: beginner or intermediate with the letters ASL.
 
 

Reference and Circulating Books for ASL

Cover Art
Talking with Your Hands, Listening with Your Eyes - Gabriel Grayson
Call Number: REF. HV2474 .G73 2003
ISBN: 075700007X
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Reference book, ASL Beginner / Intermediate, includes photographs of signs and their synonyms

Cover Art
The American Sign Language Phrase Book - Lou Fant; Barbara Bernstein Fant; Betty Miller
Call Number: HV2475 .F36 2008
ISBN: 9780071497138
Publication Date: 2008-08-11
ASL, Beginner, includes line drawings of signs. Also in Reference

Cover Art
Dancing Without Music - Beryl L. Benderly
Call Number: HV2545 .B39 1990
ISBN: 0930323599
Publication Date: 1990-09-01

Cover Art
Signs Across America - Edgar H. Shroyer; Susan P. Shroyer
Call Number: HV2474 .S476 1984
ISBN: 0913580961
Publication Date: 1984-11-01
ASL Intermediate. Signs in different parts of America

Cover Art
Signing Illustrated - Mickey Flodin
Call Number: HV2474 .F56 2004
ISBN: 039953041X
Publication Date: 2004-11-02
ASL beginner, includes more than 1350 signs with review exercises

 

Videos for ASL

Search the Online Catalog for the phrase:
Sign language and videorecording
For videos with subtitles for the deaf, use the phrase
                     Deaf and videorecording
Most videos are stored at the Circulation desk. Titles include:
   Title: Living Language say it by signing [videorecording] / Crown Publishers ; directed by Adam Friedman ; script by Elaine Costello.VHS 1165       VIDEO      

   Title: The miracle worker [videorecording ] / Playfilm  Productions; United Artists. DVD 0025     
                                                                   
 

Children's books for ASL

In our Juvenile collection. Call numbers for
Nonfiction books: J 419
Fairy tales: J 398.
Fiction: J FICTION
Nonfiction books on baby signing: BF 720-BF 723
Cover Art
Little Red Riding Hood - Harry Bornstein; Karen L. Saulnier (Contribution by); Bradley O. Pomeroy (Illustrator)
Call Number: J398.21 BOR LIT 1990
ISBN: 0930323637
Publication Date: 1990-11-01

Cover Art
Nursery Rhymes from Mother Goose - Harry Bornstein; Patricia Peters (Illustrator); Karen L. Saulnier (Contribution by); Linda C. Tom (Illustrator)
Call Number: J398.8 BOR NUR 1992
ISBN: 0930323998
Publication Date: 1972-01-01

Cover Art
Singing Hands - Delia Ray
Call Number: J RAY SIN 2006
ISBN: 0618657622
Publication Date: 2006-05-15

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip