This is the "Home" page of the "Library Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Research  

Last Updated: Jun 29, 2016 URL: http://pccc.libguides.com/libresearch Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

This guide is to help you find sources for your research paper. These ‘sources’ can include books, journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, or electronic materials.

 

Finding Books

Use the PCCC Library Catalog to find books.

The PCCC Library is part of a group of libraries mostly in Passaic County.  PCCC is the only academic library in this system.  It is most important not to waste time if you need a book.  Always consult a reference librarian for help. 

  

 

 

Finding Articles

Periodicals: When you are assigned a research paper your instructor may ask you to use periodicals as sources. Periodicals are publications that are issued regularly (daily, weekly, monthly, or quarterly) Newspapers, magazines, and journals are all types of periodicals. Periodicals contain articles.

Articles: The easiest way to find articles is to use an online database. Online databases contain the full-text of articles from thousands of periodicals in many subject areas. It is important to know that online databases are not the same as Internet search engines. Search engines help you locate Web pages. Online databases help you locate articles.

Online databases are accessible via the Internet, but you are not really "finding articles on the Internet," you are finding them in the databases we subscribe to.

Journal/Scholarly Articles: This site from the Utah Academic Library Consortium explains Scholarly Versus Popular Information.

EBSCOhost is one of our online databases. See the tabs above to learn about how to use EBSCOhost and other online databases.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip