This is the "Group Dynamics Research" page of the "Group Dynamics Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Group Dynamics Research  

Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://pccc.libguides.com/gd Print Guide RSS Updates
Group Dynamics Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Links to Books Listed on this Page

→Browse the Library shelves for other books near the call numbers of the books listed on this page. General call number areas BF, HV, RC
→Search the book catalog including  the words:
"Group Therapy"
"Group counseling"
"Group psychotherapy"
" Group psychoanalysis"
"Social group work"
Sample search: Group work adolescents
 

1. Books on Group Therapy

THIS FIRST TWO  BOOKS ARE ON RESERVE AT THE CIRCULATION DESK

Cover Art
Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy - Irvin D. Yalom; Molyn Leszcz
Call Number: RESERVE - at Circulation Desk - RC488 .Y3 2005
ISBN: 0465092845
Publication Date: 2005-07-06
Reserve copy. Ask at Circulation desk. "...latest research and clinical guidelines on group psychotherapy... explores the most recent developments in the field..."

Cover Art
Theory and Practice of Group Counseling - Gerald Corey
Call Number: RESERVE - at Circulation Desk - BF637 .C6 C576 2016
ISBN: 9781305088016
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Summary "... in-depth overview of the eleven group counseling theories. In addition to illustrating how to put these theories into practice..."

Student Solutions Manual for Corey's Theory and Practice of Group Counseling, 8th - Gerald Corey
Call Number: BF637 .C6 C5762 2012
ISBN: 9780840034649
Publication Date: 2011-01-01

Cover Art
Using Groupwork - Mark Doel
Call Number: HV45 .D65 2006
ISBN: 0415339324
Publication Date: 2006-01-13
"Social work skills series"

Cover Art
Handbook of Social Work with Groups - Charles D. Garvin (Editor); Maeda J. Galinsky (Editor); Lorraine M. GutiƩrrez (Editor)
Call Number: HV45 .H26 2006
ISBN: 9781593854003
Publication Date: 2006-08-22
Includes chapters on specific groups: related to purpose and settings.

Cover Art
Change in the Context of Group Therapy - Mary W. Nicholas
Call Number: RC488 .N53 1984
ISBN: 0876303580
Publication Date: 1987-01-01

Cover Art
The Group Therapy Treatment Planner, with DSM-5 Updates - Arthur E. Jongsma; Kim Paleg
Call Number: RC488 .P35 2015
ISBN: 1119073189
Publication Date: 2015-03-16
For 33 presenting problems, starting with: Adult children of alcoholics (ACOA) - Anger control - Anxiety - ADHD

 

2. Books on Group Therapy for Specific Groups

Cover Art
Group Work with Adolescents - Andrew Malekoff
Call Number: HV1421 .M35 1997
ISBN: 1572302097
Publication Date: 1997-05-02
Series: Social work practice with children and families

Cover Art
Group Work and Aging - Robert Salmon; Roberta K. Graziano
Call Number: HV1451 .G75 2004
ISBN: 0789028808
Publication Date: 2005-10-05

Cover Art
Helping at-Risk Students: a group counseling approach for grades 6-9 - Jill Waterman; Elizabeth Walker
Call Number: LB1027.5 .W29 2001
ISBN: 1572305711
Publication Date: 2000-11-17
"Curriculum materials and handouts" in English and Spanish.

Group Psychotherapies for the Elderly - Beryce W. MacLennan (Editor); Shura Saul (Editor); Marcella B. Weiner (Editor)
Call Number: RC451.4.A5 G76 1988
ISBN: 0823622525
Publication Date: 1988-03-01
Monograph series: American Group Psychotherapy
Association

Cover Art
Art Therapy for Groups - Marian Liebmann
Call Number: RC489.A7 L54 2004
ISBN: 1583912185
Publication Date: 2004-04-08
Updated edition on order. Covers running a group, evidence based practice, examples.

Cover Art
Counseling Boys and Men with ADHD - George Kapalka
Call Number: RJ506 .H9 K37 2010
ISBN: 9780415993449
Publication Date: 2009-10-14

 

3. Books with Chapters on Group Work

Cover Art
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Counseling and Psychotherapy - Edward S. Neukrug
Call Number: REF. BF636.54 .S24 2015
ISBN: 9781452274126
Publication Date: 2015-03-26
The "see also" note at the end of the entry on Group Counseling and Psychotherapy Theories Overview (Vol 1, p. 477) lists other entries on specific group therapies.

Cover Art
Handbook of Personality Disorders - W. John Livesley (Editor)
Call Number: REF. RC554 .H36 2001 PASSAIC
ISBN: 1572306297
Publication Date: 2001-05-07
pt. 5. Treatment modalities and special issues. Group psychotherapy

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery - Nancy A. Roget (Editor); Gary L. Fisher (Editor)
Call Number: REF. RC563.4 .E53 2009
ISBN: 9781412950848
Publication Date: 2008-11-12
Chapters on Group therapy and counseling, Self help groups, Support groups

 

4. Books with Chapters on Group Work, for Specific Groups

Cover Art
Psychotherapy and Counseling with Asian American Clients - George K. Hong; MaryAnna Domokos-Cheng Ham
Call Number: BF637.C6 H63 2001
ISBN: 0761916156
Publication Date: 2000-11-22
Chapter on family therapy and group therapy.

Cover Art
Self-Harm Behavior and Eating Disorders - John L. Levitt (Editor); Randy A. Sansone (Editor); Leigh Cohn (Editor)
Call Number: RC552 .S4 S456 2004
ISBN: 0415946980
Publication Date: 2004-09-04
Chapter on Group therapy approaches to the treatment of eating disorders and self-injury

Cover Art
Handbook of Anger Management - Ronald T. Potter-Efron
Call Number: RC569.5.A53 P68 2005
ISBN: 0789024543
Publication Date: 2005-03-21
Chapter on Group and individual approaches to anger and aggression management.

Cover Art
Juvenile-Onset Schizophrenia - Robert L. Findling (Editor); S. Charles Schulz (Editor)
Call Number: RJ506.S3 J88 2005
ISBN: 0801880181
Publication Date: 2005-04-04
Chapter on Family and group psychosocial interventions for child-and adolescent-onset schizophrenia

Cover Art
Burnside's working with older adults : group process and techniques - Barbara K. Haight; Faith Gibson
Call Number: HV1451 .B88 2005
ISBN: 076374770X
Publication Date: 2005-03-30
Social group work

 

Group Dynamics Research

Sample Search:
Population and  Presenting Problem and Topic
For example:
Women and eating disorders and group psychotherapy
First stop: PsycINFO, Click on "advanced search" . Try some of these search strategies"
  •  Search specific therapies, using related terms- such as Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, CBT
  •  Search terms:group therapy, group psychotherapy, group counseling 
  • Scroll down the page to "classification code" down arrow  to search by code 3313 - Group and Family Therapy
  • Other advanced search features: Population group, Age group 
  • Remember to limit (Click on the boxes for)
    •  Peer reviewed
    • "Full Text" box
Other Search tips:
1. Collect the key terms and experiment with searches in different databases.
3. Search EBSCO (ALL) to select several psychology databases at once.
 
 

5. eBooks on Group Therapy

These books are available with an Internet connection - no special ebook reader is needed! NOTE: There is a limit to the number of users allowed to access an eBook at the same time, so the preferred method is to email a chapter.

Cover Art
The Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy [electronic resource] - Irvin D. Yalom; Molyn Leszcz
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780465012916
Publication Date: 2008-03-03
NOTE: Use the email feature to send pages to yourself,

Cover Art
Salem Health [electronic resource] : psychology & mental health - Nancy A. Piotrowski; Paul Moglia (General Editor); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781587655562
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Section on
----Group Therapy (types and stages)

Cover Art
Group Dynamics - Norris M. Haynes
ISBN: 9780761856986
Publication Date: 2012-02-15

Cover Art
Brief Person-Centred Therapies - Keith Tudor (Editor)
ISBN: 9780857023186
Publication Date: 2011-03-13
Chapter by Keith Tudor -- A process of transformation: time-limited group counselling with women survivors of childhood sexual abuse

Cover Art
Cognitive Behavioral Group Therapy - Ingrid Sochting
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781118510278
Publication Date: 2014-08-25


Cover Art
Group Treatment for Substance Abuse: : a stages-of-change therapy manual , Second Edition - Mary Marden Velasquez; Cathy Crouch; Nanette Stokes Stephens; Carlo C. DiClemente
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781462523450
Publication Date: 2015-11-26
"The leading manual on group-based treatment of substance use disorders, this highly practical book is grounded in the transtheoretical model and emphasizes the experiential and behavioral processes of change."


The Oxford handbook of social work in health and aging - Kaplan, Daniel B., editor.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2016
p.47 Group Interventions - Support Groups - Reminiscing Groups

 

Subject Guide

 

Off-Campus Access

NOTE: Off-campus,  use My PCCC Account , log into Blackboard and look for the  Library link for passwords and access information.

 

Reference Books on Group Therapy

These books provide a good overview of Group Therapy

Cover Art
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Counseling and Psychotherapy - Edward S. Neukrug
Call Number: REF. BF636.54 .S24 2015 V.1-V.2
ISBN: 9781452274126
Publication Date: 2015-03-26
The "see also" note at the end of the entry on Group Counseling and Psychotherapy Theories Overview (Vol 1, p. 477) lists other entries on specific group therapies.

Cover Art
Psychology and Mental Health - Nancy A. Piotrowski; Paul Moglia (General Editor); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: REF. BF636 .P86 2010 V.1 - V.5
ISBN: 9781587655562
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Volume 2 - Sections on
----Group Therapy (types and stages)
----Groups (stages)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip