This is the "Engineering Disasters" page of the "Engineering Disasters Assignment" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Engineering Disasters Assignment  

Last Updated: Apr 17, 2017 URL: http://pccc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=705052 Print Guide RSS Updates
Engineering Disasters Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Browse the shelves near these books to find more on your topic.

For a complete list of books, search the online catalog.
Remember to limit to PCCC Library
 
Cover Art
Engineering Catastrophes : causes and effects of major accidents - J. F. Lancaster
Call Number: TA169.5 .L36 2005
ISBN: 1845690168
Publication Date: 2005-07-22
Description: "Case histories are given throughout the book. These are designed to show how human frailty, or the unexpected weakness of materials, or a combination of both, can lead to dire and tragic circumstances."

The Great International Disaster Book - James Cornell
Call Number: REF. D24 .C65 1982
ISBN: 068417345X
Publication Date: 1982-02-01

Cover Art
Man-Made Catastrophes - Lee A. Davis
Call Number: REF. D24 .D38 2002
ISBN: 081604418X
Publication Date: 2002-07-01

Cover Art
Unnatural Disasters : case studies of human-induced environmental catastrophes - Angus M. Gunn
Call Number: GF75 .G85 2003
ISBN: 0313319995
Publication Date: 2003-11-30

 

Overviews: Start here

Highlighted resource: 
--Contains overviews. Chapters from Reference books.
--Citations provided. Easy to use. Search using single words or phrases
NOTE: Database links may not work off campus. Use Library Link in Blackboard for  Remote Login.
Titles in this collection include:
 
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science, 2008
 

- American Decades Primary Sources, 2004American Decades Primary Sources
 

Databases: In Depth Searches for Articles

For a complete list of Library databases (books and articles online) see  List of all PCCC Online Resources 

  • Highlighted resource: Science Online -
    •    Contains comprehensive content on STEM topics for research projects
  • EBSCO (all)
    •   Comprehensive Academic and popular periodicals
    • Remember to click on the "Full Text" box
    • Other ways to limit:, using the navigation pane on the left side of the search screen:
      • Finding too much? Try a more specific search term 
      • Finding too little? Broaden your search.
 

Key terms

Search strategy tip:
Search first by the name of a specific disaster such as
Hindenburg Disaster
Try word variations and synonyms for more results. Examples:
Disaster, Disasters
Accident, Accidents
Catastrophe
Man made disasters
Nuclear meltdown
Case study, Case studies
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip