This is the "Fire Science Library Resources" page of the "Fire Science Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Fire Science Resources  

Library resources to support the Fire Science program
Last Updated: Apr 6, 2016 URL: http://pccc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=696211 Print Guide RSS Updates

Fire Science Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Articles / Databases

Articles can be found in our Library databases, available from the PCCC Library home page, Online Resources box
→Click on EBSCO (all) or select individual databases  (Academic Search Complete, CINAHL)
→Enter your search terms.
Key terms
Search suggestions will appear as you type your search terms. Examples of- Fire(s) and variations: 
Emergency medical care, Fire extinction, Fire management, Fire prevention,  Firefighting, Fireproofing, Forest fires, Search and rescue, Sprinkling systems
Fire Science periodicals:
Fire Engineering - Trade publication, Firefighting Equipment & Supplies Industry, Articles, news, and information on products and services for firefighters.

 

Videos

Films on Demand has over 1600 video segments- links available on campus. Contact librarian for off campus access

Fire and Flame 01 - Introduction. (00:00:41) Films On Demand. Films Media Group.Summary: An introduction to the explosive "Fire and Flame" lecture by Dr. Peter Wothers from the University of Cambridge.

NJ Apartment Fire Displaces Hundreds.(00:00:49) Films On Demand. Films Media Group.

Controlled Chaos: Fire Tornadoes.  (00:03:37) Films On Demand. Films Media Group. Summary: This project is all about fire. Make the proper precautions to keep your fire from spreading.

Fire Kills 6 in Ohio Town (00:00:38). Films On Demand. Films Media Group. Summary: Fire swept through a family's home early Thursday that appeared to have no smoke detectors, killing six people,
   

                                                                   
 

Off-Campus Access

NOTE: Off-campus,  use My PCCC Account , log into Blackboard and look for the  Library link for passwords and access information.

 

Fire Science Resources

On this page you will find Fire Science resources available from the PCCC Library - Books, eBooks, Articles and Videos.
Image result for fire
Books
→Browse the Library shelves for books

→Search the catalog for the Subject: Fire(s)

GN416, GN417        Fire making 
TH1091 -TH1098     Fire testing
TH9111-TH9599      Fire prevention
TP265                   Fire (Chemistry)

 

eBooks

Cover Art
Fire Safety and Risk Management - Fire Protection Association
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781317937531
Publication Date: 2014-10-24

Fire Safety Management Handbook - Daniel E. Della-Giustina
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781482221237
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Summary: "guide for developing a successful fire safety management program"

Cover Art
Fundamentals of Fire Protection for the Safety Professional - Lon H. Ferguson; Christopher A. Janicak
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781598887112
Publication Date: 2015-04-27
Summary"...in-depth look at fire hazards in the workplace, from the substances required to do business to the building construction itself. They provide practical fire-safety principles that can be applied in any work environment, and show readers how to develop emergency-action and fire-prevention plans and a comprehensive fire-program management plan that is in compliance with FEMA, OSHA, EPA, and NFPA standards. "

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Elaine Goldman, MLS, AHIP
Contact Info
Library, Room A123
Office Phone: 973 684 4594
Email: egoldman@pccc.edu
Send Email
 

Reference and circulating books

Fire science books are in the TH 9000 call number range.

Cover Art
Fire Marshal's Handbook - Tim Bradley
Call Number: TH9120 .B73 2013
ISBN: 9781428360808
Publication Date: 2012-06-13
Summary: " overview of the various programs that a fire marshal might be required to manage, offers guidance for managing these programs, and provides information on various ways they can make a difference within their communities."

Cover Art
Fire Administration - Randy R. Bruegman; Jeffery T. Lindsey
Call Number: TH9158 .B7754 2009
ISBN: 0131720848
Publication Date: 2008-04-07
Summary "...The career development model of the National Fire Academy, and the model curriculum of the Fire Emergency Service Higher Education (FESHE) group, industry leaders in fire service education and training, served as a basis for this important text. "

Cover Art
Principles of fire prevention - Diamantes, David.
Call Number: TH9145 .D53 2016
ISBN: 9781284041866
Publication Date: [2016]
Designed for use within courses based on the Fire and Emergency Services in Higher Education (FESHE) Fire Prevention model curriculum, Principles of Fire Prevention,

Cover Art
Kirk's Fire Investigation - John D. DeHaan; David J. Icove
Call Number: TH9180 .K5 2012
ISBN: 0135082633
Publication Date: 2011-05-02
Summary "...from the beginning stages of a fire investigation in evidence collection and evaluating a fire scene to the end stages of report writing and giving testimony,..."

Cover Art
Structural Firefighting - Bernard J. Klaene; National Fire Protection Association Staff
Call Number: TH9310.5 .K535 2016
ISBN: 9781449642396
Publication Date: 2015-01-02
Summary " all phases of planning, evaluation and implementation ... to effectively manage structure fire incidents safe and effective manner, regardless of size or complexity."

Cover Art
Barron's Firefighter Candidate Exams, 7th Edition - James Murtagh; Darryl Haefner
Call Number: REF. TH9157 .M87 2013
ISBN: 9781438001319
Publication Date: 2013-02-01

Cover Art
NFPA's Illustrated Dictionary of Fire Service Terms - National Fire Protection Association Staff
Call Number: REF. TH9116 .N475 2006
ISBN: 076373909X
Publication Date: 2006-03-07

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip