This is the "Future Challenges" page of the "Topic: Future Challenges" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Topic: Future Challenges  

Last Updated: Nov 25, 2015 URL: http://pccc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=687905 Print Guide RSS Updates

Future Challenges Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Web sites for topic ideas

Exploring Topics web sites for topic ideas, Global Issues Research from SFUSD

And these LibGuides

Genetic Engineering

Global Warming

In Defense of Food 

Terrorism

Technology and Society

 

eBooks

Cover Art
Social Issues in America : an encyclopedia - James Ciment
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 0765680610
Publication Date: 2006-03-15
Chapter on Poverty and Wealth

 

eBooks

Cover Art
Our Once and Future Planet - Paddy Woodworth
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780226081465
Publication Date: 2013-10-15

 

Reference

Cover Art
Social Issues in America : an encyclopedia - James Ciment
Call Number: REF. HN57 .S624 2006 V.1-8
ISBN: 0765680610
Publication Date: 2006-03-15

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues - Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: REF. HN59.2 .E343 2011 4 vol.
ISBN: 9780313392047
Publication Date: 2010-12-01

 

Highlighted Resources - Overviews

1. These databases have good overviews of concepts.

  • GALE Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Topics:  Addiction, Air Pollution, Arms Trade, Artificial Intelligence, Bioterrorism, Cancer Risks with Technology, Chinca, Civil Liberties, Civility in Modern Society, Climate Change, Cloning, Crime, Cybercrime, Deforestation, Doomsday Scenarios, Endangered Species, Energy Crisis, Extremisim, Flu Pandemics, Food Insecruity, Genetic Engineering, Global Warming, Hacking, Infectious Diseases, Islamic Fundamentalism, Junk Food, Mass Extinctions, Natural Disasters, Nuclear Safety, Technology and Society, Terrorism, Water Pollution, Weapons of Mass Destruction, Womens Rights)
  • GALE Virtual Reference Library - Book chapters providing good topic overviews
  • Today's Science - see Topic Index for articles - Air Pollution, Global Warming, Water Pollution, 
  • World Book 
2. For a complete list of Library databases (books and articles online) see  List of all PCCC Online Resources 
  • For a complete list of books, search the online catalog.
  • Remember to limit to PCCC Library
 

Highlighted Resources - In Depth Searches

1.  For a complete list of Library databases (books and articles online) see  List of all PCCC Online Resources 

2.   Start with, Academic Search Complete, a comprehensive database from EBSCO.

  • Search tips:
  • Remember to click on the "Full Text" box
    • Other ways to limit:, using the navigation pane on the left side of the search screen:
      •  By date
      • By type of source: magaine, scholarly articles
    • Finding too much? Try a more specific search term.... 
      •    such as Forecasting, Prediction
    •    or combine terms
    • Finding too little? Broaden your search.
    • Explore these Journal Titles:
      •  Futurist - Focuses on trends and developments that are likely to have a major impact on the ways we will live in the years ahead. Presents information that can be of help to evaluate design for change.
      • Future Survey -  now World Future Review - Abstract of books, articles, and reports concerning forecasts, trends, and ideas about the future.

3.   Nytimes.com - register using pccc email (---@students.pccc.edu)  to have access to the archives and multimedia, including The Future Issue NYT Magazine 11/15/15  Economists, Biologists and Skrillex on How to Predict the Future , The Secrets in Greenland's Ice SheetsThe Crispr Quandary

 

Books on Forecasts of Future Progress

CB 158-161 Forecasts of Future Progress

Cover Art
The 21st Century - Hilary D. Claggett
Call Number: CB 161.A115 1999
ISBN: 0824209664
Publication Date: 2000-01-01


Cover Art
Predictions : [30 great minds on the future] - Sian Griffiths (Editor); Jonathan Weiner (Introduction by)
Call Number: CB161 .P72 1999
ISBN: 0192862103
Publication Date: 2000-03-02

 

Books

Browse the areas around these call numbers for additional books on the topic.

Cover Art
Who Owns the Future? - Jaron Lanier
Call Number: HC 79 .I55 .L365 2013
ISBN: 9781451654967
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
Topics -Information Age; Digital media; Social networking; Economics; Jobs; Unemployment; Social classes; Social change

Cover Art
The Shape of the New : four big ideas and how they made the modern world - Daniel Chirot; Scott L. Montgomery
Call Number: CB358 .M66 2015
ISBN: 9780691150642
Publication Date: 2015-05-26

Cover Art
America in Retreat : the new isolationism and the coming global disorder - Bret Stephens
Call Number: E907 .S716 2014
ISBN: 9781591846628
Publication Date: 2014-11-18

Cover Art
Moral Ground : ethical action for a planet in peril - Kathleen Dean Moore; Michael P. Nelson
Call Number: GE42 .M65 2010
ISBN: 9781595340856
Publication Date: 2011-09-27
Environmental Ethics

Cover Art
Countdown : our last, best hope for a future on earth? - Alan Weisman
Call Number: GF75 .W454 2013
ISBN: 9780316097758
Publication Date: 2013-09-24
Overpopulation. Ecology

Cover Art
Six Billion Plus : world population in the twenty-first century - K. Bruce Newbold
Call Number: HB849.53 .N484 2006
ISBN: 9780742539297
Publication Date: 2006-05-25

Cover Art
In 100 Years : leading economists predict the future - Ignacio Palacios-Huerta (Editor)
Call Number: HD82 .I2985 2013
ISBN: 9780262026918
Publication Date: 2014-02-07

Cover Art
Future Crimes : everything is connected, everyone is vulnerable and what we can do about it - Marc Goodman
Call Number: HV6773 .G66 2015
ISBN: 9780385539005
Publication Date: 2015-02-24

Cover Art
Behind the Curve : science and the politics of global warming - Joshua P. Howe; William Cronon (Foreword by)
Call Number: QC981.8 .G56 H69 2014
ISBN: 9780295993683
Publication Date: 2014-02-26

Cover Art
The Next Boom : what you absolutely, positively have to know about the world between now and 2025 - Jack W. Plunkett (Editor)
Call Number: HD30.28 .P58 2010
ISBN: 9781608799992
Publication Date: 2011-01-24
How we're going to solve the world's biggest problems.

Cover Art
Dodging Extinction : power, food, money and the future of life on Earth - Anthony D. Barnosky
Call Number: QE721.2 .E97 B37 2014
ISBN: 9780520274372
Publication Date: 2014-10-01

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip