This is the "Microbiology Research" page of the "Microbiology and Infectious Disease Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Microbiology and Infectious Disease Resources  

Last Updated: Mar 16, 2017 URL: http://pccc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=672529 Print Guide RSS Updates
Microbiology Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Advanced Searching in Library Databases

Once you have done your background research, collect the key terms and experiment with searches in different databases.
Search tips:
  • Remember to click on the "Full Text" box
  • You can also limit by date or source type: magazine, scholarly articles, etc.

 

Articles / eBook chapters

Try using one or both terms, the name of the microorganism (ex.- Borrelia burgdorferi), as welll as the disease name (ex. Lyme disease) 
For good overviews use:
   MLA citations
   GALE Encyclopedia of Medicine, Public Health, etc.
   MLA citations
   Explore Body Systems
For Clinical articles try these resources.

 

Off-Campus Access

NOTE: Off-campus,  use My PCCC Account , log into Blackboard and look for the  Library link for passwords and access information.

 

Resources

Microbiology is the study of microbes: bacteria, viruses, fungi, parasites, etc. This guide will direct you to resources on specific microorganisms
1. What they are, description, taxonomy, transmission
2. How it affects the human body, disease, treatment
 

Web Sites

 

Books

Explore the book collection in the following ways:

2. Browse the book shelves, for call numbers:

QR 1 - QR 100 (General Topics)
QR 100-QR 500 (Specific Topics, food poisoning, antimicrobial resistance)
3. Explore our growing eBook collection
 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Manual of Clinical Microbiology - Murray, Patrick R.
Call Number: REF. QR46 .M425 2007 V.1-V.2
Publication Date: 2007
Find this valuable book in the REFERENCE collection. It contains Description, taxonomy, epidemiology, transmission and clinical significance. This book is the Gold standard for medical microbiology. Update on order

 

Books

Cover Art
Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously Simple - Mark Gladwin; William Trattler; C. Scott Mahan
Call Number: QR 67 .G543 2014
ISBN: 9781935660156
Publication Date: 2013-08-05
Good review. Covers specific microbes description, epidemiology, treatments

Cover Art
Medical Microbiology for Nurses (Including Parasitology) - Anthikad, Jacob
Call Number: QR46 .A58 2013
ISBN: 9789350902790
Publication Date: 2013
Interesting facts and easy to undertand explanation of about microbes

Cover Art
Microbiology for the Health Sciences - Gwendolyn R. W. Burton; Paul G. Engelkirk
Call Number: QR41.2 .B88 1996
ISBN: 0397551878
Publication Date: 1995-12-01
Covers ways in which microorganisms cause disease at allied health student level. Includes section on major infectious diseases in humans: characteristics, pathogens, transmission, control, treatment. Update on orde

Cover Art
Microbiology - Tom Betsy; Jim Keogh
Call Number: QR41.2 .B48 2012
ISBN: 9780071761093
Publication Date: 2012-05-08
Good overview

Cover Art
Understanding Microbes - Jeremy W. Dale
Call Number: QR41.2 .D35 2013
ISBN: 9781119978800
Publication Date: 2013-02-11

Cover Art
E-Z Microbiology - Rene Kratz
Call Number: QR62 .K73 2011
ISBN: 9780764144561
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Good review book

Cover Art
A Field Guide to Germs - Wayne Biddle
Call Number: QR46 .B47 1995
ISBN: 0805035311
Publication Date: 1995-07-01
Interesting facts about specific microbes, by a Pulitzer Prize-winning science writer, eBook on order

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip