This is the "HOME" page of the "Homeland Security" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Homeland Security  

In this time of danger from terrorism, the United States has taken steps to protect its citizens. "Homeland Security" is the blanket term for this effort
Last Updated: Jun 29, 2016 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

HOME Print Page

Department of Homeland Security


Homeland Security

After the September 11, 2001 attacks on the World Trade Center, President Bush called on Congress to pass a bill creating a federal agency whose responsibility it would be to take steps to protect the "homeland."   Congress responded by passing the Homeland Security Act of 2002, creating the Department of Homeland Security.    The Department has five divisions:  The Directorate of Border and Transportation Security, The Directorate of Emergency Preparedness and Response, the Directorate of Science and Technology, the Directorate in Information Analysis and Infrastructure Protection and the Directorate of Management.

There are many facets to homeland security.  Included in the term are: biodefense, border security, transportation security, and emergency preparedness.  Many states also have departments of homeland security with their own websites 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Glen Bencivengo,Esq. Cooper Shetland Sheep Dog

Loading  Loading...