Resources to aid in finding OER and free resources for English Composition courses.
Last Updated: Jun 19, 2017
Bartleby.com "...Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse..." Includes quotations, Strunk's Style, Harvard Classics, Shakespeare and the King James Bible. Some ads.
DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals. Index of peer reviewed journals
Google Books. Books you can preview or read for free. Full text is available for books that are out of copyright
Project Gutenberg - Free eBooks, available to download
Khan Academy Lectures and educational videos of varying length, quizzes
TED talks Technology, Education, Design videos of varying length
C-SPAN Video Library National politics, history, landmark cases, presidents, profiles, first ladies, american writers
Good starting point for finding OER textbooks: https://www.oercommons.org/ and https://www.merlot.org/. See more on the OER LibGuide / Find OER
- Boundless Writing Hub
Boundless.com - 1 Introduction to the Practice of Writing 2 Paper Execution 3 Academic Writing 4 Conversations 5 Style, Structure, Grammar
CC BY-SA 4.0 with attribution required.
See textbook listings / by subject / English - contains resources for both Literature, and English Composition includes quizzes, PowerPoints
- English Composition 1
Lumen Learning. Includes chapters on writing and types of essays, with videos, quizzes and mini lessons.
CC BY: Attribution. License
- Saylor.org English Composition I
- Saylor.org Pre- English Composition
- Three Modules on Clear Writing Style: An Introduction to The Craft of Argument,
pdf available from theorangegrove.org and Rice University Openstax cnx
Creative Commons Attribution License 2.0 license.
online at http://cnx.org/contents/K7sPEHSM@1.2:YLds-vB0@1/Writing-Module-Introductory-No
- Writing Commons
Free, comprehensive, peer-reviewed, award-winning Open Text for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research.
- Writing For College
Free web book is a full-length collegetextbook- for beginning college students. Use Contents or left-hand column links to view 58 chapters. Includes study questions/activities and grammar handbook at Online Grammar.org.
Text, design, and photos copyright 2002-12 by R. Jewell or as noted.
Permission is granted for nonprofit educational copying and use without a written request.
- Writing Spaces
Essays about writing
Under the heading Controversial Issues
Issues & Controversies
New York Times (NYTimes.com)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Issues and Controversies
– “In depth investigation of today’s top issues”. Pro/con articles include statistics and primary sources. Resources link includes Educator tools, summarizing an article and debate videos.